Ijaw group recognises outstanding Ijaws after Adaka Boro

By Shina Badmus

The Proudly Ijaw Cultural Heritage and Peace Building Centre is set to hold its annual award symposium, ‘Ijaw National Merit Award/Symposium’ come Friday, November 29th, 2019.

The programme which is organized to recognize personalities from the Ijaw grouping and Niger Delta at large for their immense contributions to the development of the region, would be taking place at the Golden Tulip Hotel, Port Harcourt, Rivers State.

The Organizer of the award, Tams Okunbiri disclosed that a lot of persons, since the days of Isaac Adaka Boro, have been struggling and fighting for the emancipation of the Niger Delta.

He added that it was on that note that his organization felt the need to appreciate sons and daughters from the region for their contribution.

According to him, “Our body, the Proudly Ijaw Cultural Heritage and Peace Building Centre, right from 2010 came up with the initiative starting with the radio and TV program on the Ijaw people’s parliament, where we discuss the Ijaw nation, the Ijaw developmental issues. 

“We now saw that a lot of sons and daughters of this area had put effort in the Ijaw and Niger Delta matter in terms of development.

“So we felt at least they should be appreciated for their own input and by 2010 we came up with this symposium and the award which is known as the Ijaw National Merit Award and Symposium.”

He said the aim and objective of the program was to foster unity among the people and appreciate them for the role they have played when it comes to the Niger Delta and the Ijaw nation development.

He said, “The Ijaw National Merit Award is cut across the six homogeneous Niger Delta State where we have the Ijaws residing and this 2019 edition which is holding at Golden Tullip, Port Harcourt, much is to be expected. 

“We are going to be having keynote speakers who are experts in the field of oil and gas to enlighten the people.

“This year we are recognizing 30 to 40 persons in the Ijaw nation, also we have a category which is the Ijaw by associate category, where we bring in the non-Ijaws that have contributed to the Niger Delta also.”

Past leaders with notable impact in the Niger Delta region both political and traditional would be recipient of the 2019 edition award.

They include  former President of Nigeria, His Excellency, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan receiving the award of “leadership peace icon man of the year,” Nigerian  nationalist, Ijaw leader and politician, Chief E.K Clark will also receive award of recognition.

Others include Her Excellency, Ipalibo Gogo Banigo, Deputy Governor, Rivers State; His Majesty King (Dr.) Dandeson Douglas Jaja JP, the Pere of Opobo Kingdom; Chief Alabo Graham-Douglas, former Minister of Tourism; King Ebitimi Banigo, the Amanyanabo of Okpoama Kingdom; King Alfred Papapreye Diete-Spiff, the Amayanabo (King) of Twon-Brass, Bayelsa State; Chief Albert Korubo Horsfall is a former Nigerian security chief; Dr. Dakuku Peterside, Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency; Odein Ajumogobia, former minister of Foreign Affairs and so on.