Egberipapa receives Northern students’ Integrity award

By Our Reporter

Leader of the Network for Defense of Democracy and Good Governance (NDDGG), Ambassador Sobomabo Jackrich has called on Nigerians to always work towards ensuring the unity of the country.

Jackrich, popularly known as Egberi Papa, stated this when he received an award of excellence dubbed “Icon of Integrity and Humanitarian Services” conferred on him by the National Association of Northern State Students Union (NANSSU) and was inducted into the union’s Hall of Fame.

Egberi Papa, who is also the leader of Kalabari pan sociocultural group, Kegema Unity Forum, commended the group for the recognition, saying the move was an extension of the hand of friendship by the northern students to their southern brothers.

He said the recognition will spur him to do more for the betterment of humanity. “I only began to receive these calls that NANSSU wants to give me an award,” he said.

Hon. Sobomabo Jackrich in a group photograph with members of the National Association of Northern State Students Union (NANSSU), shortly after receiving the award.

He continued, “And then I asked, what have I done especially in the north to deserve such recognition. But after they persisted for some days, I said okay, let them come.

“I must confess that in fact, you beat my imagination. In all my life, I have never been addressed the way you people just did.

“Some people see it as if when you are given an award, you lobbied for it. But I am not one of such persons. Have I met any of you before?

“Let me thank you once again for this prestigious recognition, this will further strengthen me to do more”.

Earlier, leader of the delegation and Senate President, National Association of Northern State Students Union, Umaru Babayaro said the award was in recognition of Egberi Papa’s numerous contributions to community development, youth empowerment among other gestures.

Other members of the executives who accompanied the senate president included Muhammad Yahaya – Vice President; Sakina Garba – Treasurer/ Chairperson award committee; Rabi Ruben – PRO; and Sandra Michael – Director of Socials.